Criminal Division

The Criminal Division of the County Attorney’s Office is responsible for prosecuting all adult misdemeanor criminal offenses in Williamson County. The Criminal Division prosecutes approximately 11,000 misdemeanor cases per year in three County Courts at Law as well as prosecuting Class C misdemeanors in the four Justice Peace Courts in the County.

Criminal Division Staff


Laura Gorman

Criminal Courts Division Chief
[email protected]

Mariel Puryear 
Trial Director 

[email protected]
B.A. University of Texas, 2006 
J.D. St. Mary’s University School of Law, 2014
Carly Dessauer
Appellate Director
[email protected]
B.S. Millsaps College, 2005
M.A. University of Texas, Austin 2007
J.D. St. Mary's University School of Law, 2012


County Court #2:

Joe Register
[email protected]
B.S. Texas A&M University, 2008
J.D. William Bowen School of Law, 2016

Anthony Stokes
[email protected] 
B.S. Brigham Young University, 2015
J.D.  Baylor Law School, 2019

Holden Joseph
[email protected]
B.A. Texas State University, 2018
J.D. UNT Dallas School of Law, 2021

Jason Steans (Mental Health Lead)
[email protected]
B.A. Trinity University, 1995
J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 1998

County Court #3:

Rick Locke
[email protected]

Amanda Rice
[email protected]

Carson Walker
[email protected] 
B.S. Texas State University, 2016
J.D. South Texas College of Law, 2020

County Court #5:

Yvonne Patton
[email protected]
B.A. Grambling State University, 1994
J.D. Louisiana State University, 1994

Chase Gomillion
[email protected]

James Murphy
[email protected]


Intake Prosecutors:

Kemp Phelps
[email protected]
B.A. Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, 2017
J.D. Mitchell Hamline School of Law, 2021
Sam Lower
[email protected]
B.A. University of Oklahoma, 2018
J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 2021

Legal Assistants:

Angela Murillo
[email protected]
Reva Trainor-Collis
[email protected]
Jessica Schmidt 
[email protected]      
Ryleigh Schobey
[email protected]
Grace Neale
[email protected] 
Abigail Markow
[email protected]