en-USes-MX
Justice Courts in the State of Texas will Operate Under New Rules

Effective August 31, 2013

by Order of The Supreme Court of Texas

dated February 12, 2013, in Misc. Docket No. 13-9023; HB 79 & HB 1263

Please click on a link below for the information pertaining to the new rules:

Final Approval of Rules Justice Court Rules PDF

Civil Practice and Remedies Code Chapter 15, Subchapter E PDF
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/CP/htm/CP.15.htm
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure PDF
http://www.supreme.courts.state.tx.us/rules/TRCP/RCP_all.pdf
Texas Rules of Evidence PDF

Supreme Court Texas Rules and Standards  http://www.supreme.courts.state.tx.us/rules/rules.asp


 
Forms

 


 TitleModified DateSize 
Community Service Log3/8/201747.86 KBDownload
Defensive Driving Request Form3/8/201729.66 KBDownload
Extension Application4/28/201713.76 KBDownload

After I get a traffic ticket, how long should I wait to pay it?
If you come to or call the JP office before the appearance date shown on your citation, it is possible that the officer who gave you the citation has not yet filed it with the court. Please allow 10 days for the court to receive the citation. You may call to check or mail any correspondence.

How can I pay a fine? Does the court accept personal checks?
This court does not accept personal or company checks for the payment of fines. We accept cash, cashiers checks or money orders. Payments should be made payable to Williamson County. Cash should not be mailed. We also accept credit card payments, if paid in person. A convenience fee of 2.19% will be charged for all credit card payments with a $1.00 minimum charge.

How can I request a 30 day extension?
Download and complete the form entitled "Extension Application". Fax or mail it to the court. What happens if I miss an appearance date? Appear at the court office as soon as possible otherwise a warrant may be issued for your arrest on added charges.

How do I obtain my Texas driving record?
You may get this online or through the mail. To get this online go to www.txdps.state.tx.us choose order driving record, select Certified List of All Accidents and Violations in Record (Type 3A): certified version of Type 3. This record is acceptable for Defensive Driving Course (DDC), pay the fee, and download and print. Through the mail complete DPS form DR 1, mail with fee to Driver Record Bureau, Texas Dept. of Public Safety PO Box 149246 Austin, TX 78714-9246

 
Rules of Attire and Conduct

Courtroom Attire

ALL PERSONS present in the Courtroom shall be clean, neat and dressed in a manner that shows dignity and respect for the Court.

Unacceptable attire includes:
Shorts, cut-offs, baggy pants, oversized coats (jackets), flip flop style shoes, hats, cropped shirts, muscle shirts, clothing indicating gang affiliation or other clothing with offensive, vulgar, racist, sexist, obscene, suggestive words, slogans, depictions, or pictures, including grotesque creatures. Clothing that is torn, dirty and ragged will not be allowed.Provocative clothing designed, styled, or worn to provoke emotion or disrupt or distract will not be allowed.

Courtroom Conduct

Conduct in the “Courtroom” also includes the reception/foyer area, jury room and/or any office space assigned to the Justice Court.

  1. Any type WEAPONS are PROHIBITED in the Courtroom and this building EXCEPT for LAW ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL. YOU ARE SUBJECT TO SEARCH!
  2. Absolutely no cellular phones. Pagers are allowed on silent mode.
  3. Be on time.
  4. Rise when the Judge enters and remain standing until the Judge or bailiff announces, “Be seated”. Rise when the Judge exits the courtroom.
  5. Do not argue with the court. Address the court as "Judge" or "Your Honor."
  6. Address opposing parties, counsel, witnesses and court officers as “Mr.”, “Mrs.”, “Miss”, “Dr.”, etc. Do not use first names, except with children 14 years of age and younger.
  7. Do not approach the Judge’s bench without permission. Do not rest arms on the bench. Remain behind the marker on the floor, until given permission to approach the bench.
  8. Do not chew gum in the Courtroom or bring drinks or food items into the Courtroom.
  9. Racist, sexist, obscene, or profane language is prohibited unless it is pertinent to a case, and is elicited and quoted from facts in the case.
  10. Do not enter or depart the Courtroom excessively and do not slam the doors. Use the proper door to exit.
  11. Do nothing to disturb or distract the court, counsels, witnesses or other court personnel.
  12. Do not read newspapers, magazines, periodicals, books, etc. in the Courtroom during proceedings.
  13. All property in the Courtroom and reception area must be treated with respect. No writing on any papers posted or furniture.
  14. No recording devices are allowed without judicial approval.

PRO SE parties (individuals representing themselves without an attorney) should be prepared to present their cases in proper manner. It is not the court’s duty to represent you nor instruct you on evidence, rules, or how to present and prove your case. If you are unprepared, unaware and not knowledgeable as to presenting your case, you may lose your case.

DISCLAIMER

Texas laws change every two years and there may be times when the information on this web site and in the forms is not current. This information and forms are provided for general informational purposes only and are not intended as legal advice. It is always recommended to consult with a licensed lawyer before proceedings in any legal matters. The court has made every effort to accurately set out information, but we do not warrant the reliability or appropriateness of the information for a particular purpose. Furthermore, the court does not assume liability for any consequences resulting from your reliance on the information/forms presented