Deborah M. Hunt

Deborah M. Hunt
Williamson Co. Tax Assessor/Collector

Georgetown Tax Office
904 S. Main Street 
Georgetown, TX 78626

Motor Vehicle (512) 943-1602
Property Tax (512) 943-1603
8am - 5pm



Deborah Hunt was elected Williamson County Tax Assessor/Collector in 1996 and took office January 1, 1997, with 12 years of experience as a Tax Assessor/Collector. Ms. Hunt has a long history of public service. She was appointed to fulfill terms as Justice of the Peace in 1994 and as a Williamson County Magistrate from 1995-1996. 

Deborah Hunt earned her Registered Texas Assessor/Collector certification in 1986 and earned the designation of Certified Tax Administrator in 1988. Ms. Hunt currently serves on the Texas Association of Appraisal Districts (TAAD) and the Tax Assessor Collectors Association of Texas (TACA) legislative committees. She is a former chair of the Texas Department of Transportation Liaison Committee for TACA. Former Governor George W. Bush appointed her to the Board of Tax Professional Examiners in 1999 and was appointed by Governor Rick Perry to chair the Board in 2003. In 2013 Ms. Hunt was appointed by Governor Rick Perry to Board of Trustees of the Texas County & District Retirement System . Ms. Hunt is assisting with the development of a tax collection educational program for the International Association of Assessing Officers of which she is a member. In addition, she is a member of the Williamson County Investment Committee and an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Williamson Central Appraisal District. She is a graduate of the 2006-2007 Texas Association of Counties Leadership Foundation. She was appointed by Texas Comptroller Susan Combs to the Property Tax Technical Advisory Committee. Ms. Hunt was named TAAD’s Board Member of the Year in 2003 and she was named Tax Assessor/Collector of the year by TACA in 2004. In 2008 Ms. Hunt was awarded CTA of the year by the Institute of Certified Tax Administrators and received the Texas Assessor Collectors Association of Texas Presidents Award. In 2009 she was named the 2009 recipient of the Earl Luna Award presented by the Texas Association of Appraisal Districts (TAAD). This award is named after the first president of the TAAD, Earl Luna, chairman of the Dallas Central Appraisal District, and is presented to the TAAD member who has, over a period of years, made a significant contribution to TAAD through participation in its activities and who has made an outstanding contribution to the realization of the mission of the TAAD. In 2016 Ms. Hunt was awarded the Marillyn Albert Achievement Award by Texas Association of Assessing Officers (TAAO). This Achievement Award is TAAO's highest honor and recognizes a TAAO member who consistently performs high quality work, is devoted to excellence and maintains a professional image.

On the forefront of technology, Ms. Hunt has taken a leadership role in allowing the use of charge cards for on-line payment of motor vehicle renewals and property taxes along with the use of the eChecks for on-line payment of property taxes. In 2009, she offered an ACH option for property tax payments to taxpayers and subcontractors.  She is well known throughout the state for serving as a test site for Texas Department of Motor Vehicles to pilot upgrades and new systems. 

Ms. Hunt is a native, sixth generation Texan and has lived in Williamson County since 1978. She is married with a son and daughter and two grandchildren.

Motor Vehicle Division
Property Tax Division

Office Calendar and the new Round Rock tax office location

Tax Office Calendar

Click here to see a calendar of upcoming office closures and important dates.

Regular Office Hours

Georgetown, Round Rock, Cedar Park
Monday 8:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday thru Friday 8:00 a.m- 4:30 p.m.

Monday thru Friday 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m

Payment drop boxes located inside office lobbies.

 The Georgetown office is the only location with an outside night deposit drop box.

   Mailing address for correspondence and payments

Williamson County Tax Office
904 S. Main Street
Georgetown, TX 78626

Checks and money orders should be made payable to Larry Gaddes, CTA.
Payments made by check may be converted to an electronic funds transfer.
Failure to use correct mailing address will cause processing delays.

Williamson County Courthouse
710 Main Street Georgetown, TX 78626
Main Telephone: (512)943-1100
Copyright 2017 by Williamson County, Texas TS   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement  Sitemap