Filing for an Occupational License in Justice Court Precinct 2

What is an occupational license?
An occupational license is a special restricted license issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked for certain offenses. Texas Transportation Code Section 521.242; 37 Texas Administration Code 15.7. For more information, click here: Texas Department of Public Safety - Occupational License

Is the court order the occupational license?
No. This is the order granting the occupational license. The court order and all other required items must be submitted by you to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so an occupational license can be issued.

Note: The Justice Court does not forward any documents to DPS. Contact DPS at: (512)424-2600 or

visit their website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/

The court order may be used temporarily as a license for 30 days from the date of the judge’s signature while DPS processes the occupational license.

Can I get a refund if the license is not granted?
No. The filing fee is $41.00 and is non-refundable.

To file for an Occupational Driver License you must:


Familiarize yourself with the requirements as set out in the Transportation Code Section 521.241 to 521.253. http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Search.aspx

        1. File a Petition with the Williamson County Justice Court. You can review a sample at
http://www.texaslawhelp.org/documents/clusters/TX/194/English/ODL_Petition.pdf or in the County Clerk’s Research Department located in the basement of the Williamson County Justice Center. You must sign the Petition before a Notary Public prior to filing with the court.
        2. Obtain and file an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance. An Insurance Agent may assist you in obtaining the SR-22.
        3. Obtain and file a Certified Abstract of your Driving Record (AR). This can be requested from the following link:
Order Driving Record Online
        4. Obtain and file a letter from your employer or a school certificate, if applicable.
        5. Print, fill out and file Check List. Occupational License Checklist
        6. Print, fill out and file Order Granting Occupational License. Order Granting Occupational License
        7. Submit a copy of the suspension letter you received from DPS to the court.
        8. After filing your Petition and all other required documentation the Court Coordinator will notify you if you will be required to present your Order to the Judge. Otherwise, you will be notified when you may return to the court to pay for and receive certified copies of the Petition and Order for filing with DPS and for your records. The cost for the certified copies will be $7.50 for two sets.

Notice:
This procedure can be very complicated. It may be beneficial to employ an attorney to assist you. The Judge and respective staff are prohibited by law to assist you in the preparing of the application or procedural steps taken after the Judge signs the Order.

 
--


Edna Staudt
Justice of the Peace Pct. 2
Williamson County Cedar Park Annex
 
350 Discovery Blvd, Ste. 204
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Driving Directions

Telephone: (512) 260-4210
Fax: (512) 260-4215

Office Hours:
Tuesday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Closed on Monday
Civil, Small Claims, & Evictions
Must be filed before 3:30 p.m.


Williamson County Holiday Closures
:

 2014 - 2015

Veterans Day, Tuesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday, Thursday, November 27
Thanksgiving Holiday, Friday, November 28

Christmas Holiday, Wednesday, December 24
Christmas Holiday, Thursday, December 25
Christmas Holiday, Friday, December 26
‚Äč

New Year's Day, Thursday, January 1

Martin Luther King Day, Monday, January 19

President's Day, Monday, February 16

Good Friday, Friday, April 3

Memorial Day, Monday, May 25

Independence Holiday, Friday, July 3

Labor Day, Monday, September 7

--
Williamson County Courthouse
710 Main Street Georgetown, TX 78626
Main Telephone: (512)943-1100
Copyright 2014 by Williamson County, Texas ITS   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement  Sitemap