Illegal burning is serious business, and tough Texas Laws punish offenders with fines and jail time.
Illegal burning is in violation of Texas Outdoor Burning Regulations 30T.A.C. 111b
No burning is permitted during a County Burn Ban. Fines up to $500 and/or civil action can be enforced. Check the County's Web site at www.wilco.org.
All controlled burns need to be called into your local fire department or police agency.
$1,000 to $100,000 fine and possibly civil penalties
Regardless of whether a County Burn Ban is in effect, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) has legal guidelines that dictate the rules for outdoor burning. Even if you live in an unincorporated area, the TECQ guidelines still apply. These guidelines should be consulted before any burning takes place. Access to these guidelines is provided here. Provided is a PDF document of the TCEQ Outdoor Burning in Texas, explaining burning guidelines and regulations in Texas.
Report a Case
Williamson County Annex
Environmental Law Enforcement
301 S.E. Inner Loop, Ste. 102
Georgetown, TX 78626
Phone: (512) 943-1486
Fax: (512) 943-1440